Board of Trustees and Governance

In 2018 the Society of the Transfiguration, a religious order of Episcopal women who oversee and support Bethany School, approved the installation of an independent, self-perpetuating Board of Trustees.  Like other private not-for-profit schools, the Board is responsible for:

  • Fiduciary oversight
  • Monitoring the school mission
  • Strategic planning
  • Hiring, evaluating and supporting the Head of School

The Board vests its authority in the Head of School to implement policies and to run the day-to-day operations of the school.

Trustee meetings are held bi-monthly during the school year. Board Committees which include trustees, administrators, and others who are invited to attend, typically meet monthly. These committees include Finance, Buildings and Grounds, Diversity, Development, and Governance. An Executive Committee is comprised of the President of the Board, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and the Head of School.

The Board is made up of 17 people that includes three non-voting members:

  • Head of School
  • Legal Advisor
  • Faculty Representative

It also includes three Ex Officio positions

  • Head of School
  • Sister Superior of the Society of the Transfiguration
  • President of BEAP (parents’ association)

If you are interested in learning more about the board of trustees, or are interested in possibly serving on the board, or if you know someone who may be interested, then please contact our Head of School (513-771-7462 ext. 1102).

The 2020-2021 Bethany School Board of Trustees

President:  Dr. Parul Bawa

Vice President:  Ms. Karen Ryan

Treasurer:  Ms. Jackie Conner

Secretary:  Sister Carina Spendel, C.T.

Mr. Eric Austin

Ms. Mary Barrera (Ex Officio, President of BEAP)

The Right Reverend Thomas Breidenthal

Ms. Kim Cooper (Faculty Representative)

Sister Jean Gabriel Crothers, C.T. (Ex Officio)

Dr. Mattie Decker

Mr. Marvin Dejean

Mr. Peter Wessels

Mr. Alex Ewing, Esq. (Legal Advisor)

Mr. David Gould (Ex Officio)

Ms. Rogelle Hackworth

Mr. Randy Pratt

Sister Theresa Martin, C.T.